17 August 2018

Pakatan: seat allocation in Selangor failed to reach consensus

Pakatan: seat allocation in Selangor failed to reach consensus
SHAH ALAM: Despite being held for two days, Selangor Pakatan Harapan’s special meeting to discuss the electoral seat distribution in Selangor has failed to reach a consensus.

According to a source, based on an initial plan, PKR will contest 19 state assembly seats, followed by DAP, 18, Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia, 10, and Parti Amanah Negara (PAN), nine.

He said this caused disagreements to break out during the meeting, which was chaired by Selangor Pakatan Harapan secretary Zuraida Kamarudin.

“During the meeting, a PKR representative said the party should lead Pakatan Harapan, and that it had decided to contest 19 seats.

“This caused dissatisfaction among PPBM and PAN leaders. We were made to understand that this directive came from Azmin (Selangor Pakatan Harapan chairman Datuk Seri Azmin Ali),” he added.

The source said PPBM wanted to contest in the 12 seats currently held by Barisan Nasional, while PAN planned to contest in the 13 seats controlled by Pas.

“PKR is eyeing seats like Kuang, Sijangkang, Jeram, Permatang and Hulu Bernam. DAP, on the other hand, wants Lembah Jaya and Taman Templer. However, we are confident that we can solve this matter amicably,” he said.

PAN, he said, was adamant on contesting in Taman Templer, Lembah Jaya, Paya Jaras, Chempaka, Meru, Dusun Tua, Tanjung Sepat, Sabak, Gombak Setia, Bangi, Seri Serdang, Selat Klang, Sijangkang, Morib dan Hulu Klang, which are held by Pas.

Hulu Klang assemblyman Saari Sungib and Morib assemblyman Hasnul Baharuddin won their seats in 2013 under the Pas ticket, but have since left the Islamic party for PAN.

BN, meanwhile, won 12 seats in the 13th General Election, namely Sungai Burong, Jeram, Kuang, Semenyih, Permatang, Bukit Malawati, Sungai Air Tawar, Sungai Panjang, Hulu Bernam, Batang Kali, Kota Damansara and Dengkil.

Pakatan Harapan pro-term chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad on Sunday said the ‘clash’ involving PAN and PKR over the electoral seat distribution would be resolved internally.


About UsContact Us © Copyright 2018. All rights reserverd.